We’re Seeing Double!

No need to rub your eyes or press refresh on your computer… you are seeing it right!! We are expecting TWINS!!

Jason and I knew that we were expecting again and had a 6 week appointment this past Tues. to have an untrasound, just to see if we could hear our sweet little baby’s heartbeat. Right away, I was told I wasn’t 6 weeks along…more like 8 1/2.  Shock #1! “Ok”,  I thought,  “this changes when we wanted to tell people, but that’s no biggie.” If I thought that was a shock, I would soon be schooled in the definition of being SHOCKED!

 Both babies heartbeats. Average: 160 and 161. Wonderful!!

Immediately, we saw a sweet little baby and its heart was beating strong and steady! We were thrilled! As the measurements of it were being recorded, Jason and I looked at the screen intensely watching its heart race. As we were glancing at our baby on the screen in front of us, yet another figure appeared. It looked identical in shape to the baby we had been watching…. I gasped. I looked at my friend, Emily, who was performing the ultrasound and her eyes became enormous and her mouth struggled not to burst with a smile. “Yep! There’s TWO”, she exclaimed!!  Shock #2.

I remember Jason saying,  “You’ve got to be kidding me” and then his head went between his legs, while I immediately burst into tears. Sweet little Landrey was with us and she began to rub my arm and telling me that it was ok, Mommy. Such a sweet little girl. What a wonderful helper she will be to me. :)

I really don’t even remember getting off the table or walking out of the ultrasound room, to be honest. Jason ended up taking Landrey to McDonald’s, just to get her out of the office while I had my examination and I can only remember asking my friend, Emily, for something for a headache and then staring at the floor in the waiting room until someone (not even sure who) called my name to be brought back to an exam room. I also vaguely remember someone telling me to take deep breaths. :)

Well, that was almost a week ago and while we still have many moments of disbelief and shock, Jason and I have shared our wonderful news with our family and friends and I now find myself having moments of excitement and glances into our future with THREE children under 3!

I am already showing ( quite a bit, actually) and am feeling all the lovely (insert sarcasm here) stretching and pulling sensations that come along with expecting a baby. Much earlier than previously, but I have been told many of the sensations felt at 16 to 30 weeks will be felt at 8 to 12 weeks. YIKES! I began to compile a list of the items that would be needed for the upcoming arrival of our twins and I soon realized, it was like starting over! We need a crib, infant carrier, stroller, you name it! And I believe I have all of about 4 bottles in our house. Oh boy….. let the fun begin!

I find myself taking many pauses while typing this… mainly because I have so much running through my mind and can’t seem to put everything into words. There are so many emotions, feelings, thoughts, concerns and fears that we are facing, but I have to keep reminding myself that God saw Jason and I both fit to be the parents to these two babies and we have to put our FULL trust in Him. Please pray for all of us during this time. We only pray for healthy babies these next few months and for healthy births come November.

I have always known that our church family was one of the best, but the outpouring of love and support we have already received has really blown me away. I do believe that our preacher has to be one of the most excited of anyone! He just looks at me and grins from ear to ear and even mentioned the twins from the pulpit this past Sunday morning.  Not sure how many shades of red our faces turned…

I am so thankful for this blog and for being able to share our wonderful news with so many friends and family across the world! Please keep us in your prayers and I will be keeping you updated!!  :)

2 thoughts on “We’re Seeing Double!

  1. You made me cry!!! I am so excited for the two of you. I just know God has something really special for the two of you to bless you this way. Don’t let ANYONE burst your happines bubble, just trust God and remember there are no accidents in the Christians life. Love ya!

    • You, Ashly, write so beautifully….just as if the Lord penned each word. We serve a Great God and grandpa and I just want you to know how blest those twins will be to have wonderful Christian parents who have proved their love to Him, by already raising Landrey to love you and obey you…which will make it so easy for her to love Jesus and accept Him into her heart at an early age. Keep up the good work for Him…praise Him for choosing you as parents to have twins and love them now, as they are forming in your body. “Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her.”Prov. 31:28
      much love and prayers, grandpa and grandma haas

Leave a Reply

